Help with choosing a console/controller

Hello. I am fairly new to lighting and everything it entails. I have a martin lightjockey interface and a m-pc interface. Up until now i have used the lightjockey software to control my lights. It’s getting a big frustrating.

I want to switch to onyx and to get a controller/console with some faders and buttons that i can map to whatever function i want within onyx.

The problem is that i do not know what that means. Do i have to get a console or controller that is supported by onyx?

I don’t want anything too expensive, i have a budget of about 500$. From what i’ve seen, that budget means that the majority of the consoles/controllers are out.

If someone can help me understand what are the requirements for a console or controller to work with onyx software. That way i know what to look for and can start looking for something in my price range that i will know for sure works with onyx.

As i said, i am kind of new to lighting so i might’ve left information out that you guys might need in order to help me. If so, ask me whatever you want. Thanks

TL:DR: I want to buy a console/controller/device that has faders and buttons where i can map presets and cues and stuff from onyx. Budget around 500$

Hey,
I think the best is to look here:
https://support.obsidiancontrol.com/Content/Device_Overview/Onyx_Devices.htm

But in general for a start NX-Touch would be a first logical step in Your budget.

1 Like

The nx touch is above my budget. The cheapest i could find that is available to buy from my country is 780$. And i recently learned that without an nx touch, midi is not unlocked in the software.